Sculpture

Wheelbarrow exhibited at SAMMLUNG VERBUND gallery, exhibition SIX DECADES, Vienna, 2023

Following her performanceSe vendre sur les marchés en petits morceaux , ORLAN exhibited the wheelbarrow she had used. This performance consisted of selling black-and-white photographs of her body parts glued to wood and detoured, propelled on a cart through a vegetable market, like a foodstuff alongside stalls of carrots, leeks and potatoes…

Show More
ORLAN & ORLNADOÏDE, Artistic, electronic and verbal striptease, exhibition Artistes et Robots Grand Palais, Paris, 2018

ORLAN created ORLANoide, a work in progress, in 2018 as part of the Artistes et Robots exhibition at the Grand Palais curated by Laurence Bertrand Dorléac and Jérôme Neutres. It’s a humanoid robot with ORLAN’s face, endowed with artificial intelligence as well as collective and social intelligence.

Show More
A grand cru reinvented, 2016, La Source – Annonay

ORLAN creates Un grand cru réinventé as part of a charity project for Gérard Garouste’s La Source. ORLAN covers a wine bottle with a silver cover, on which she pastes a photograph of the 4th Operation-Surgery-Performance, known as Operation Successful. In this image, the artist is shown eating real and fake grapes before the operation. She adds plastic grapes to crown the bottle in reference to her performance.

Shifting Folds, 2012

ORLAN’s draped works seem to come from the Victory of Samothrace, which ORLAN saw on the walls of her school from an early age, to Bernini’s Baroque folds. For ORLAN, she is an extraordinary example of strength and dynamism. In 2012, the artist created a series called Plis Mouvants, featuring computer-generated Baroque drapery in the continuity of her Étude Documentaire. This series of 36 works was produced as a lenticular print, creating movement and changing the folds as the viewer positions them. ORLAN uses organic references to the moving, twisting body and female sex.

Differences and Repetitions, Bodiless Garment: Fold Sculpture, 2010

These four sculptures of folds follow in the footsteps of ORLAN’s work on Baroque drapery. Indeed, since the 1980s, ORLAN, draped in skilful folds, has been in dialogue with art history, and Bernini’s statuary in particular. 

For her exhibition at Abbaye de Maubuisson in 2009, ORLAN created this new series. When nuns took holy orders, often in spite of themselves, in this abbey, they had to accept the law of silence and lose their bodies and their pleasures.

Show More

An ORLAN-BODY of skulls, 2009

In 2009, ORLAN designed a very contemporary vanity entitled Un ORLAN-Corps de crâne. To create this work, the artist went to the Clinique de Turin in Paris to have her skull scanned. This work was produced using software developed by the Sismos design group and linked to a 3D printer. As it happens, the X-rays that were taken, scheduled solely for the purpose of making a work of art, enabled the doctors to detect a very serious infection in her sinuses, so she was able to get treatment in time. Art is therapeutic.

Bump-Load Series: Luminous Sculpting Brushes Version 2, 2009

ORLAN, who has often used her own body as material for her work, has designed an interactive sculpture in which she hybridizes her body with that of an African woman. This work is part of the African self-hybridization movement.

The sculpture is made of resin and contains coltan atoms on a luminous fiber-optic base. ORLAN questions the dangerousness of the African sound from which coltan is extracted. This mutant being is somewhere between techno-cyber and ethno-futurism. 

Show More

Bodiless Garment: Fold Sculpture, 2002

It’s been said that baroque was classicism’s monster, and that women were man’s monster! Baroque’s detractors say it’s in very bad taste, that it’s “too much”. 

In 1980, ORLAN travelled to Italy to study the Baroque and understand this aversion. This study trip enabled him to identify works of great importance in the history of art. The Baroque has been a major source of inspiration for ORLAN, who has  worked on this theme for over ten years in her major series Etude Documentaire: le Drapé-le Baroque.

Show More

ORLAN has been reading a lot since she was very young. It was one of his first openings to the world and to his emancipation. ORLAN creates two black and white photographic series. In the first, Littérature pour se tenir bien droite, ORLAN shows herself with piles of books she had in her studio.

Show More

ORLAN-CORPS (measuring instrument), 2002

ORLAN has created a new measuring instrument: the ORLAN-CORPS. ORLAN has used this object during her MesuRAGES performances to measure streets named after historic stars (most of whom, of course, are men, with a few rare exceptions) and to measure cultural institutions such as the Guggenheim (Spain), the usée Saint-Pierre des Beaux-arts in Lyon, the Centre Georges Pompidou (France), the Andy Warhol Museum in Pittsburg (USA) and the M HKA in Antwerp (Belgium). ORLAN also measured the Le Corbusier unit in Firminy and the Vatican.

Show More

Defiguration-Refiguration, African Self-Hybridations, 2000

A year after her first series of Pre-Columbian Self-hybridations, ORLAN continues her reflection on non-Western beauty standards with the creation of the African Self-hybridations series, in memory of all the exciting study trips to Africa that so marked her youth.

Show More

Espace Lyonnais d’art contemporain, 1980, Documentary Study: Le Drapé-le Baroque. Elevated Chapel to My beloved-self (Staging for a saint)

ORLAN creates a resin statue of Saint ORLAN with beautiful drapery, a single bare breast and a finger raised to the sky for her installation La Chapelle élevée à moi-même(mise en scène for a Saint). It condenses various aspects of the artist’s reflections on the Baroque into an extravagant sensory installation. Built for the Made in France exhibition at the Espace lyonnais d’art contemporain, the monumental chapel measured 10m².

Show More

ORLAN-CORPS holds up the rinsing liquid, Effigy, 1980

This work consists of an effigy of ORLAN brandishing the MesuRAGEs rinsing liquid. It’s a black-and-white photo glued to wood and cropped.

The MesuRAGEs protocol is very precise: ORLAN puts on a dress made from the sheets of her trousseau, always the same until it wears out, complete or almost.

Show More

ORLAN as guardian of the ORLAN-BODY, 1980

This work is composed of two effigies of ORLAN on pedestals, each bearing an ORLAN-CORPS. It’s a black-and-white photo of her body glued to wood and cropped to scale 1 ORLAN-CORPS is a unit of measurement ORLAN created for the MesuRAGEs. ORLAN’s effigy shown wearing the MesuRAGEs dress made of trousseau sheets.  

Show More

Documentary Study : Le Drapé-le Baroque : Bust in marble of ORLAN in Saint-ORLAN, 1978

It’s been said that baroque was classicism’s monster, and that women were man’s monster! Baroque’s detractors say it’s in very bad taste, that it’s “too much”. 

In 1980, ORLAN travelled to Italy to study the Baroque and understand this aversion. This study trip enabled him to identify works of great importance in the history of art. The Baroque has been a major source of inspiration for ORLAN, who has  worked on this theme for over ten years in her major series Etude Documentaire: le Drapé-le Baroque.

Show More

The marble sculpture entitledÉtude documentaire : Le Drapé-le Baroque depicts a bust of ORLAN as Sainte-ORLAN, dressed as a Madonna with the sheets from her trousseau.

ORLAN has created many sculptures, using a wide variety of materials and techniques: resin, kraft paper, Carrara marble, 3D printing…

She has long been interested in the Baroque and has produced numerous documentary studies. 

 

Kiss of the Artist, 1977

Le baiser de l’Artiste (1977) is a large sculpture featuring a black-painted pedestal. On one side stands ORLAN’s life-size effigy in black and white photo, disguised and draped as a Madonna. 

For 5 francs, candles could be placed at Sainte-ORLAN.

Show More

 

MeasuRAGE’s Dresses

This is the dress ORLAN wore during her MesuRAGEs performances, during which she followed a precise protocol. She puts on a dress made from the sheets of her trousseau, always the same until it wears out, complete or almost. After measuring the space determined by her body by lying on the floor and drawing a chalk line behind her head, and then counting the number of times her body is contained within this space using her unit of measurement the ORLAN-CORPS, she fetches water, removes her dress, washes it in public and collects the dirty water from the dress in a flask with which she poses like the Statue of Liberty. 

Show More
The birth of ORLAN without shell, Paris, France, 1974

This work features an ORLAN effigy revisiting Sandro Botticelli’s famous painting The Birth of Venus (1484-1485), but without the shell.

ORLAN is naked, the shell represented by a pile of post-striptease trousseau sheets, like a solid chrysalis from which we don’t know what body will be born.

Show More

Sculptures

Brouette de la performance Se vendre sur les marchés en petits morceaux

ORLAN expose, à la suite de sa performance Se vendre sur les marchés en petits morceaux, la brouette utilisée. Cette performance consistait à vendre des photographies des parties de son corps en noir et blanc collées sur bois et détourées, propulsées sur une charrette dans un marché de légumes, tels des produits alimentaires à côté des étals de carottes, de poireaux et de pommes de terre…

Show More
ORLAN & ORLANoïde, Strip-tease artistique, électronique et verbal, exposition Artistes et Robots Grand Palais, Paris, 2018

ORLAN réalise l’ORLANoïde, un work in progress, en 2018 dans le cadre de l’exposition Artistes et Robots au Grand Palais curatée par Laurence Bertrand Dorléac et Jérôme Neutres. Il s’agit d’un robot humanoïde avec le visage d’ORLAN doté d’intelligence artificielle ainsi que d’intelligence collective et sociale.

Show More
Un grand cru réinventé, 2016, La Source – Annonay

ORLAN réalise Un grand cru réinventé dans le cadre d’une œuvre caritative au bénéfice de La Source de Gérard Garouste. ORLAN recouvre une bouteille de vin avec une housse argentée sur laquelle elle colle une photographie de la 4ème Opération-Chirurgicale-Performance dite Opération réussie. Sur cette image, l’artiste se trouve avant l’opération en train de manger de vrais et de faux raisins. Elle ajoute des raisins en plastique pour couronner la bouteille en référence à sa performance.

Plis Mouvants, 3D printing, 2012

Les œuvres réalisées par ORLAN avec des drapés semblent venir de la Victoire de Samothrace qu’ORLAN a vu très jeune sur les murs de son école en passant par les plis Baroques de Bernin. Elle est pour ORLAN un exemple extraordinaire de force et de dynamisme. En 2012, l’artiste réalise une série nommée Plis Mouvants où elle met en scène des drapés baroque réalisés par l’ordinateur dans la continuité de son Étude Documentaire. Cette série de 36 œuvres a été réalisée sous forme de tirage lenticulaire ce qui crée du mouvement et fait évoluer les plis en fonction des positionnement du spectateur. ORLAN y met des références organiques au corps mouvant, en torsion, à des sexes féminins.

Différences et Répétitions, Robe sans corps : Sculpture de plis, 2010

Ces quatre sculptures de plis s’inscrivent dans la filiation du travail d’ORLAN sur le drapé baroque. En effet, dès les années 1980, ORLAN, drapée dans des plis savants, dialoguait avec l’histoire de l’art et en particulier la statuaire du Bernin. 

À l’occasion de son exposition à l’Abbaye de Maubuisson en 2009, ORLAN crée cette nouvelle série. Les religieuses en entrant dans les ordres, souvent malgré elles, dans cette abbaye en prenant la robe, l’uniforme, devaient accepter la loi du silence et perdre leurs corps et ses plaisirs.

Show More

Un ORLAN-CORPS de crânes, 2009

ORLAN a conçu en 2009 une vanité très actuelle intitulée Un ORLAN-Corps de crânes. Pour créer cette œuvre, l’artiste s’est rendue à la clinique de Turin à Paris pour faire scanner son crâne. Cette œuvre a été produite grâce aux logiciels que le groupe de désigner les Sismos avait mis en place et qui était reliés à une imprimante 3D. Il se trouve que les radiographies qui ont été faites, programmées uniquement dans le but de réaliser une œuvre, ont permis aux médecins de détecter une infection très importante dans ses sinus qu’elle a donc pu faire soigner à temps. L’art est thérapeutique.

Bump-Load, sculpture lumineuse en fibre optique , 2009

ORLAN, qui a souvent fait de son propre corps le matériau de son œuvre, a conçu une sculpture interactive dans laquelle elle hybride son corps à celui d’une femme africaine. Cette œuvre s’inscrit dans les Self-hybridations africaines.

La sculpture est réalisée en résine et contient des atomes de coltan sur le socle en fibre optique et lumineuse. ORLAN interroge la dangerosité du sol africain d’où est extrait le coltan. Cet être mutant s’inscrit entre techno-cyber et ethno-futurisme. 

Show More

Robe sans corps : Sculpture de plis, papier craft et draps du trousseau, 2002

On a dit que le baroque était le monstre du classicisme, et que les femmes étaient le monstre de l’homme ! Les détracteurs du baroque disent qu’il est de très mauvais goût, qu’il est dans le “trop”. 

En 1980, ORLAN voyage en Italie pour étudier le baroque et comprendre cette aversion. Ce voyage d’étude lui a permis de repérer des œuvres d’une très grande importance dans l’Histoire de l’Art. Le baroque a beaucoup apporté à ORLAN qui a  travaillé autour de cette problématique pendant plus de dix années dans sa grande série Etude Documentaire : le Drapé-le Baroque.

Show More

ORLAN lit beaucoup depuis son plus jeune âge. C’est l’une de ses premières ouvertures au monde et à son émancipation. ORLAN crée deux séries photographiques en noir et blanc. Dans la première, Littérature pour se tenir bien droite, ORLAN se met en scène avec des piles de livres qu’elle avait dans son atelier.

Show More

ORLAN-CORPS (instrument de mesure), 2002

ORLAN a créé un nouvel instrument de mesure : l’ORLAN-CORPS. ORLAN a utilisé cet objet pendant ses performances des MesuRAGES pour mesurer des rues portant le nom de stars historiques (la plupart bien sûr sont des hommes, sauf quelques rares exceptions) et pour mesurer des institutions culturelles comme le Guggenheim (Espagne), le musée Saint-Pierre des Beaux-arts à Lyon, le Centre Georges Pompidou (France), le musée Andy Warhol à Pittsburg (USA) et le M HKA à Anvers (Belgique). ORLAN a aussi mesuré l’unité Le Corbusier à Firminy et le Vatican.

Show More

Defiguration-Refiguration, Self-Hybridations Africaine, 2000

Un an après sa première série des Self-hybridations précolombiennes, ORLAN continue sa réflexion sur les standards de beauté non-occidentaux en créant la série des Self-hybridations Africaines en souvenir de tous ses passionnants voyages d’étude en Afrique qui ont tant marqué sa jeunesse.

Show More

ORLAN  manipule ses différentes effigies collées sur bois et détourées, photographie couleur 1981

Étude documentaire : Le Drapé-le Baroque. Chapelle élevée à moi-m’aime (Mise en scène pour une Sainte), sculpture de Sainte-ORLAN en résine,Espace Lyonnais d’art contemporain, 1980,

ORLAN crée une statue de Sainte-ORLAN en résine avec de beaux drapés, un seul sein dénudé et un doigt levé vers le ciel pour son installation La Chapelle élevée à moi-même (mise en scène pour une Sainte). Elle condense divers aspects de la réflexion de l’artiste sur le baroque en une extravagante installation sensorielle. Montée pour l’exposition Made in France à l’Espace lyonnais d’art contemporain, la chapelle monumentale mesurait 10m².

Show More

ORLAN brandit le liquide de rinçage, effigie, 1980

 

Cette œuvre est constituée d’une effigie d’ORLAN brandissant le liquide de rinçage des MesuRAGEs. Il s’agit d’une photo noir et blanc collée sur bois et détourée.

Le protocole des MesuRAGEs est très précis : ORLAN enfile une robe faite avec les draps de son trousseau, toujours la même jusqu’à usure, complète ou presque.

Show More

ORLAN comme gardienne de l’ORLAN-CORPS, effigie 1980

Cette œuvre est composée de deux effigies d’ORLAN posés sur des socles, arborant chacune un ORLAN-CORPS. Il s’agit d’une photo noir et blanc de son corps collée sur bois et détourée à l’échelle 1 L’ORLAN-CORPS est une unité de mesure qu’ORLAN a créée pour les MesuRAGEs. L’effigie d’ORLAN montrée vêtue de la robe des MesuRAGEs en draps du trousseau.  

Show More

Étude documentaire : Le Drapé-le Baroque : Buste en marbre d’ORLAN en Sainte-ORLAN, 1978

On a dit que le baroque était le monstre du classicisme, et que les femmes étaient le monstre de l’homme ! Les détracteurs du baroque disent qu’il est de très mauvais goût, qu’il est dans le “trop”. 

En 1980, ORLAN voyage en Italie pour étudier le baroque et comprendre cette aversion. Ce voyage d’étude lui a permis de repérer des œuvres d’une très grande importance dans l’Histoire de l’Art. Le baroque a beaucoup apporté à ORLAN qui a  travaillé autour de cette problématique pendant plus de dix années dans sa grande série Etude Documentaire : le Drapé-le Baroque.

Show More

La sculpture en marbre intitulée Étude documentaire : Le Drapé-le Baroque représente le buste d’ORLAN en Sainte-ORLAN, costumée en madone avec les draps du trousseau.

ORLAN a réalisé beaucoup de sculptures, en utilisant des matériaux et des techniques très variées : résine, papier kraft, marbre de carrare, 3D printing…

Elle s’est longtemps intéressée au baroque et a réalisé de nombreuses études documentaires. 

Le Baiser de l’Artiste, 1977

Le baiser de l’Artiste (1977) est une grande sculpture composée d’un piédestal peint en noir. D’un côté, debout l’effigie d’ORLAN grandeur nature en photo noir et blanc, déguisée et drapée en madone. 

Pour 5 francs, il était possible de mettre des cierges à Sainte-ORLAN.

Show More

 

Robe des MesuRAGEs, 1977

 

Cette robe est la robe qu’ORLAN a porté lors de ses performances des MesuRAGEs, durant lesquelles elle suit un protocole précis. Elle enfile une robe faite avec les draps de son trousseau, toujours la même jusqu’à usure, complète ou presque. Après avoir mesuré le lieu déterminé à l’aide de son corps en s’allongeant au sol et en traçant un trait à la craie derrière sa tête, puis après avoir comptabilisé le nombre de fois que son corps est contenu dans cet espace grâce à son unité de mesure l’ORLAN-CORPS, elle quête de l’eau, ôte sa robe, la lave en public et recueille l’eau sale de la robe dans un flâcon avec laquelle elle pose telle la statue de la liberté. 

Show More
Portrait tiré à quatre épingles, 1977

Petite suite d’oreillers : multiples raisons pour ne pas dormir, 1977

La naissance d’ORLAN sans coquille, effigie, 1977

Cette œuvre est composée d’une effigie ORLAN revisitant le célèbre tableau de Sandro Botticelli, La Naissance de Vénus (1484-1485), mais sans arborer de coquille.

ORLAN est nue, la coquille est représentée par un amas de draps de trousseau post strip-tease comme une chrysalide solide dont on ne sait pas quel corps va naître..

Show More