Performance

PERFORMANCE

ORLAN RELEASE PARTY DU SLOW DE L’ARTISTE, AFTER-PARTY, SILENCIO CLUB, 2023

To mark the launch of her first musical album “Le Slow de l’Artiste” on May 26, 2023, ORLAN will stage a release party/performance on May 31, 2023. She orchestrates a double event: The Grand Prix du Slow de l’Artiste at an album listening session in Olympia’s historic billiard room, and an After-Party, during the awards ceremony, with live performances and a DJ-set at the Silencio Club.

Show More

Following her performance le baiser de l’artiste (the artist’s kiss) at the FIAC in 1977, ORLAN presents le slow de l’artiste (the artist’s slow), her very first “all slow” album! She wants to offer what we’ve missed most since March 17, 2020: human warmth, hugs, body-to-body… she wants to bring bodies closer together after the physical distancing!

Show More

Photo : Octave de Bascher
ORLAN’S Designer : Beñat Moreno

ORLAN RELEASE PARTY DU SLOW DE L’ARTISTE, GRAND PRIX DU JURY, SALLE DU BILLARD, OLYMPIA / AFTER-PARTY, SILENCIO CLUB, 2023

To mark the launch of her first musical album “Le Slow de l’Artiste” on May 26, 2023, ORLAN will stage a release party/performance on May 31, 2023. She orchestrates a double event: The Grand Prix du Slow de l’Artiste at an album listening session in Olympia’s historic billiard room, and an After-Party, during the awards ceremony, with live performances and a DJ-set at the Silencio Club.

Show More

Following her performance le baiser de l’artiste (the artist’s kiss) at the FIAC in 1977, ORLAN presents le slow de l’artiste (the artist’s slow), her very first “all slow” album! She wants to offer what we’ve missed most since March 17, 2020: human warmth, hugs, body-to-body… she wants to bring bodies closer together after the physical distancing!

Show More

Photo: Michael Huard/Say Who
ORLAN’S Designer : Beñat Moreno

Showcase of
Slow de l’artiste
at CENTQUATRE Paris, with ORLAN, Sir Alice, Tentative, Demi Mondaine, Blue Carmen and Kat May, 2023

A few months before the release of her first musical album “Le Slow de L’Artiste”, ORLAN created an immersive art installation at the CENTQUATRE Paris, designed to tease out her future musical project. The album is previewed in this installation, on a loop, all day long. A video projection illustrates each of the songs, accompanied by a karaoke machine allowing the audience to sing along.

Show More

Following her performance le baiser de l’artiste (the artist’s kiss) at the FIAC in 1977, ORLAN presents le slow de l’artiste (the artist’s slow), her very first “all slow” album! She wants to offer what we’ve missed most since March 17, 2020: human warmth, hugs, body-to-body… she wants to bring bodies closer together after the physical distancing!

Show More


Photographer: Lorenzo De Freitas-Hillions


SLOWSEXUEL.E.S event
at CENTQUATRE Paris, 2022

A few months before the release of her first musical album “Le Slow de L’Artiste”, ORLAN created an immersive art installation at the CENTQUATRE Paris, designed to tease out her future musical project. The album is previewed in this installation, on a loop, all day long. A video projection illustrates each of the songs, accompanied by a karaoke machine allowing the audience to sing along.

Show More

Following her performance le baiser de l’artiste (the artist’s kiss) at the FIAC in 1977, ORLAN presents le slow de l’artiste (the artist’s slow), her very first “all slow” album! She wants to offer what we’ve missed most since March 17, 2020: human warmth, hugs, body-to-body… she wants to bring bodies closer together after the physical distancing!

Show More

Archive of the Slow de L’Artiste website



Performance by ORLAN a la colombe, photographed by Pim Schalkwijk Mérida,



2022

“Match Selavy”, This raft (is not) lonely , Mu.ZEE, Oostende, Belgium, 2017

Match Selavy was a large-scale public performance organized by Yann Fabre in a soccer stadium in Antwerp. Each of his guests was asked to dress as a character from the history of art. ORLAN dressed as Rose Selavy. When she arrived at the stadium, ORLAN  was surprised to find museum director Bart de Baere with a star-shaped tonsure. They immediately became a “couple” and while everyone else was trying to kick the ball, ORLAN and Bart de Baere were lying on the lawn playing chess on the checkerboard lining of ORLAN’s coat. They also walked limply from goal to goal, separately or arm in arm.


Petition Against Death,
Biennial of Contemporary Art, Kiev, Ukraine, 2017

A programmed failure with no antidote. Until “the death of death”, is the title of Laurent Alexandre’s book, a firm believer in “the death of death”.

ORLAN invites you to sign her petition against death, which can be found on her website:

“Really, enough is enough. Enough is enough, we’ve never been asked our opinion, we’ve had to die for millennia, others have to die, our friends and family have to die. Often in unbearable pain, it’s disgusting. The loss of our faculties, the suffering of those condemned to death.

So if we all sign this petition together, we might stand a chance. The participation of everyone is necessary, and that’s the hardest part.”


Carte Blanche For Three White Nights, SALÒ #19,

SALÒ, Paris, France, April 20,21,22 2017

In 2017, ORLAN was invited by Silencio to take part in the program of their other annex nightclub now called Salò, ( before, the Social Club). Their plan was to give well-known artists carte blanche to design and exhibit a 5-day program. ORLAN invites other artists to showcase their work.

Show More


Tangible Striptease in Nanosequences,
Center des Arts, Enghien-les-Bains, Université Paris Diderot, Paris, France,2016

ORLAN performs ” Tangible striptease en nanoséquences” at the Centre des Arts d’Enghien-les-Bains and Université Paris Diderot on Thursday, June 02, 2016 as part of the Bains Numériques festival. She works with Mael Le Mée and Sup’Biotech.

Show More

MesuRage, M HKA, Antwerp, Belgium, 2012,17,20,21,22

ORLAN performed the M HKA MesuRAGE in Antwerp in 2017 wearing a knee brace and taking anti-inflammatory medication for a knee injury, despite her doctor’s contraindication. ORLAN was given a retrospective of the MesuRAGE by the museum’s director, Barte de Baere. 

Show More

ORLAN created her MesuRAGE performance series between 1968 and 2017. As the artist’s name is written in all capital letters, the term RAGE emphasizes his refusal to toe the line, to fall in line, and to play the role that society wants to impose on us. 

Show More

MesuRage, Andy Warhol Museum, Pittsburg, United States, 2012

ORLAN created MesuRAGE for the Andy Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh in 2012 wearing a knee brace and taking anti-inflammatory medication for a knee injury, despite her doctor’s contraindication. For the occasion, ORLAN presented a major retrospective of MesuRAGE by Eric Shiner. 

She used her body to measure the entire façade of the museum, despite the pain.

ORLAN created her MesuRAGE performance series between 1968 and 2017. As the artist’s name is written in all capital letters, the term RAGE emphasizes his refusal to toe the line, to fall in line, and to play the role that society wants to impose on us. 

Show More

Biopsy, Le manteau d’Arlequin, School of Anatomy and Human Biology, SymbioticA Laboratory, University of Perth, Australia, 2007

In the preface to Tiers-instruit, entitled “Laïcité”, Michel Serres describes the Harlequin who, having gradually removed all his layers of patchwork clothing during a round-the-world tour, presents a skin that is also in patchwork form. ORLAN was greatly inspired by this work, which she will read during the Biopsie performance.

Show More

Lecture Le Plan du film, Fondation Cartier, Paris, France, 2001

In 1989 and 1992, ORLAN received two grants from FIACRE and the Fonds d’Innovation Artistique et Culturel en Rhône-Alpes, to take up a residency in Chennai (then called Madras), India. For her second three-and-a-half-month trip, she was accompanied by Stephan Oriach, a director with whom ORLAN had collaborated in the past.

Show More

ORLAN creates a mock television program recorded live at the Fondation Cartier as part of the Soirées Nomades. Everything seemed real because there was a  real TV presenter, Alain Maneval, who with ORLAN asked questions and orchestrated the shoot.

Show More
EXOGENOUS, 1997-2017

In 1997, ORLAN wanted to work with the forensic police on DNA sequencing, which had just been used to solve criminal cases.

Show More

“Woman with head(s)”, Institute of Contemporary Art, London, UK, 1996

There are certain physical transformations that not even ORLAN can achieve without the help of magic. In Femme avec tête(s) (Woman with head(s)), an absolute counterpoint to images that chosify women by reducing them to their sexual attributes, she tackles the mind/body problem with her characteristic sense of humor. In this performance, staged at the ICA in London, ORLAN takes on her detractors head on. She collaborated with a magician who made her body disappear, leaving only her head. 9She answers questions posed by her own video image, such as “ORLAN, are you a copy or the original? Do you believe in God? Are you crazy?” by reading aloud texts by Antonin Artaud, Julia Kristeva, Eugénie Lemoine-Luccioni and Michel Serres, who inspired her to make her body “a place for public debate”.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 9th Operation-Surgery-Performance, 1993

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More

The 9th Opération-Chirurgicale-performance took place on December 14 1993 in New York in collaboration with the Sandra Gering Gallery. 

During this operation, ORLAN was operated on by the feminist surgeon Dr. Marjorie Kramer and costumed by ORLAN

The photographers were Robert Puglisi and Vladimir Sichov for Pipa-Press.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 7th Operation-Surgical-Performancecalled Omnipresence 1993

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More

The 7th surgical operation-performance, known as Omniprésence, took place on November 21 1993 in New York in collaboration with the Sandra Gering Gallery. 

During this operation, ORLAN was operated on by the feminist surgeon Dr. Marjorie Kramer and costumed by designer Lan Vu and her team. The photographers were Robert Puglisi and Vladimir Sichov for Sipa-Press (photos copyright-free). 

Show More


6th Operation-Surgery-Performance at the Circus
Divers
in Liège,
Belgium, 1993

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More


La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images-nouvelles images / 5th Opération-Chirurgicale-Performance called Opération Opéra,
1991

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More

The 5th operation-surgical-performance, known as Operation-Opera, took place on July 06, 1991 in Paris. 

During this operation, ORLAN was operated on by Dr. Chérif Kamel Zahar and costumed by designer Franck Sorbier. During the performance, the artist read “Le Tiers Instruit” by Michel Serres.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images-nouvelles images / 4th Operation-Surgery-Performance called Operation Success, 1991

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More

The 4th operation-surgical-performance, known as Operation Success or the ultimate masterpiece, took place on December 08 1990 in Paris. 

During this operation, ORLAN was operated on by Dr. Bernard Cornette de Saint-Cyr and costumed by designer Paco Rabanne.

During the performance, the artist read “La Robe” by Eugénie Lemoine-Luccioni and Lacan. The photographer was Alain Dohmé for Pipa-Press. ORLAN invites dancer Jimmy Blanche to strip, dance and sing during the operation.



La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 2nd Operation-Surgery-Performance,


199

0

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More

The 2nd surgical-performance operation, known as La licorne, took place on July 25, 1990 in Paris. 

During this operation, ORLAN was operated on by Dr. Chérif Kamel Zaha.

During the performance, the artist read a text by Julia Kristeva.



La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 1st Operation-Surgery-Performancecalled Sheriff’s Block,


19

86

On May 30, 1990, in a desecrated church called “All Saints” in Newcastle, England, ORLAN announced her decision to undertake Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances in an inaugural performance-ritual, reading from her manifesto of Charnel Art, which she had written in 1989. 

Show More

The 1st surgical-performance operation, known as Opération Shérif-Bloc, took place in Paris in 1986. 

During this operation, ORLAN was operated on by Dr. Chérif Kamel Zahar and costumed by herself. She wears her photographic canvas dress with a representation of her naked body. This first operation was used to create an installation of 9 black and white photographs.





MesuRage, Guggenheim Museum,






198





3


ORLAN created her MesuRAGE performance series between 1968 and 2017. As the artist’s name is written in all capital letters, the term RAGE emphasizes his refusal to toe the line, to fall in line, and to play the role that society wants to impose on us. 

Show More





An ORLAN-CORPS-of-books,






198





2


Between 1979 and 2007, ORLAN set up a series of performances she called ORLAN-CORPS-de-livres. The artist has a particular attachment to literature, which is probably an imprint of her father, who made books sacred in a locked library that she had no choice but to open. 

Show More

ORLAN manipulating her various effigies glued to wood and cut out, performance, 1981



Documentary study: Le Drapé-le Baroque, Baroque and Rococo ceilings, Espace lyonnais d’art contemporain,


France,

198

1

ORLAN creates the performance Plafond baroque et rococo in her installation La Chapelle élevée à moi-même (mise en scène pour une Sainte), one of the key works in the Etude Documentaire series: le Drapé-le Baroque. It condenses various aspects of the artist’s reflections on the Baroque into an extravagant sensory installation. Built for the Made in France exhibition at the Espace lyonnais d’art contemporain, the monumental chapel measured 10m². Both an installation and a performance space, the Chapelle functioned as a work of art in the artist’s absence, and as a set designed for the performance. 

Show More

MesuRage de la place St.-Lambert, Liège, Belgium, 1980

In 1980, ORLAN created the MesuRAGE for Liège’s Place Saint-Lambert. By this time, the square had been completely demolished and was now just a huge gaping hole in the middle of Liège, with no plans for reconstruction.

Show More

ORLAN created her MesuRAGE performance series between 1968 and 2017. As the artist’s name is written in all capital letters, the term RAGE emphasizes his refusal to toe the line, to fall in line, and to play the role that society wants to impose on us. 

Show More

Documentary study: Le Drapé-le Baroque, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, 1980

ORLAN’s performance of L’étude documentaire: Le Drapé-le Baroque took place several times in her life. In 1980, she presented it at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, at the end of the procession for the 11th Biennale d’Art Contemporain. ORLAN began the performance in a Plexiglas shrine from which only one of her fingers emerged, the finger of designation.

Show More

MesuRage, I.C.C, Antwerp, Belgium, 1980

ORLAN created her MesuRAGE performance series between 1968 and 2017. As the artist’s name is written in all capital letters, the term RAGE emphasizes his refusal to toe the line, to fall in line, and to play the role that society wants to impose on us. 

Show More



Emergency G.E.U.,


19

80

In 1980, at the second performance symposium organized by ORLAN, a very painful event occurred in her life. 

On the first day of the symposium, ORLAN had an ectopic pregnancy. If you don’t want to die, you have to undergo surgery within forty minutes of the onset of pain.

Show More

Documentary study: Le Drapé-the Baroque, Palazzo Grassi, Venice, Italy, 1978

Performances

PERFORMANCE

ORLAN RELEASE PARTY DU SLOW DE L’ARTISTE, AFTER-PARTY, SILENCIO CLUB, 2023

A l’occasion du lancement de son premier album musical “Le Slow de l’Artiste” le 26 mai 2023, ORLAN réalise une release-party/performance le 31 mai 2023. Elle orchestre un double évènement : Le Grand Prix du Slow de l’Artiste lors d’une séance d’écoute de l’album dans la salle historique du billard de l’Olympia et une After-Party, lors de la remise des prix, des lives et un DJ-set au Silencio Club.

Show More

Après sa performance le baiser de l’artiste, réalisée à la FIAC en 1977, ORLAN propose le slow de l’artiste, son tout premier album « tout slow » ! Elle veut offrir ce qui nous a le plus manqué depuis le 17 mars 2020 : la chaleur humaine, les embrassades, les corps-à-corps… elle souhaite rapprocher les corps après la distanciation physique!

Show More

Photo : Octave de Bascher
ORLAN’S Designer : Beñat Moreno

ORLAN RELEASE PARTY DU SLOW DE L’ARTISTE, GRAND PRIX DU JURY, SALLE DU BILLARD, OLYMPIA / AFTER-PARTY, SILENCIO CLUB, 2023

A l’occasion du lancement de son premier album musical “Le Slow de l’Artiste” le 26 mai 2023, ORLAN réalise une release-party/performance le 31 mai 2023. Elle orchestre un double évènement : Le Grand Prix du Slow de l’Artiste lors d’une séance d’écoute de l’album dans la salle historique du billard de l’Olympia et une After-Party, lors de la remise des prix, des lives et un DJ-set au Silencio Club.

Show More

Après sa performance le baiser de l’artiste, réalisée à la FIAC en 1977, ORLAN propose le slow de l’artiste, son tout premier album « tout slow » ! Elle veut offrir ce qui nous a le plus manqué depuis le 17 mars 2020 : la chaleur humaine, les embrassades, les corps-à-corps… elle souhaite rapprocher les corps après la distanciation physique!

Show More

Photo : Michael Huard/Say Who
ORLAN’S Designer : Beñat Moreno

Showcase du Slow de l’artiste au CENTQUATRE Paris, avec ORLAN, Sir Alice, Tentative, Demi Mondaine, Blue Carmen et Kat May, 2023

Quelques mois avant de la sortie de son premier album musical “Le Slow de L’Artiste”, ORLAN réalise une installation artistique et immersive au CENTQUATRE Paris, conçue pour teaser son futur projet musical. L’album est présenté en avant-première dans cette installation, en boucle, toute la journée. Une projection vidéo illustre chacune des chansons, accompagnée d’un karaoké permettant au public de chanter les chansons.

Show More

Après sa performance le baiser de l’artiste, réalisée à la FIAC en 1977, ORLAN propose le slow de l’artiste, son tout premier album « tout slow » ! Elle veut offrir ce qui nous a le plus manqué depuis le 17 mars 2020 : la chaleur humaine, les embrassades, les corps-à-corps… elle souhaite rapprocher les corps après la distanciation physique!

Show More


Photographe : Lorenzo De Freitas-Hillions

Manifestation SLOWSEXUEL.E.S au CENTQUATRE Paris, 2022

Quelques mois avant de la sortie de son premier album musical “Le Slow de L’Artiste”, ORLAN réalise une installation artistique et immersive au CENTQUATRE Paris, conçue pour teaser son futur projet musical. L’album est présenté en avant-première dans cette installation, en boucle, toute la journée. Une projection vidéo illustre chacune des chansons, accompagnée d’un karaoké permettant au public de chanter les chansons.

Show More

Après sa performance le baiser de l’artiste, réalisée à la FIAC en 1977, ORLAN propose le slow de l’artiste, son tout premier album « tout slow » ! Elle veut offrir ce qui nous a le plus manqué depuis le 17 mars 2020 : la chaleur humaine, les embrassades, les corps-à-corps… elle souhaite rapprocher les corps après la distanciation physique!

Show More

Archive du site du Slow de L’Artiste

Performance d’ORLAN a la colombe, photographiée par Pim Schalkwijk Mérida, 2022

“Match Selavy”, Ce radeau (n’est pas) solitaire, Mu.ZEE, Oostende, Belgique, 2017

Match Selavy est une grande performance publique organisée par Yann Fabre à Anvers dans un stade de football. Chacun.ne de ses invité.e.s devait s’habiller en évoquant un personnage de l’histoire de l’art. ORLAN s’est costumé en Rose Selavy. Lorsqu’elle est arrivée dans le stade, ORLAN  a eu la grande surprise de retrouver le directeur de musée Bart de Baere avec une tonsure en étoile. Ils se sont de suite mis en “couple” et pendant que tous les autres essayaient de taper dans le ballon, ORLAN et Bart de Baere étaient allongés sur le gazon en jouant aux échecs sur la doublure en damier du manteau d’ORLAN. Ils ont aussi marché mollement d’un but à l’autre, séparément ou bras dessus bras dessous.

Pétition Contre la Mort, Biennale d’Art Contemporain, Kiev, Ukraine, 2017

En panne programmée et sans antidote. Jusqu’à “la mort de la mort”, tel est le titre du livre de Laurent Alexandre, croyant très fermement en “la mort de la mort”.

A sa suite, ORLAN vous invite à signer sa pétition contre la mort, présente sur son site internet, et qui stipule :

“Vraiment, il y en a assez. Trop c’est trop, on ne nous a jamais demandé notre avis, ça fait des millénaires que l’on doit mourir, les autres doivent mourir, nos amis, notre famille doivent mourir. Souvent dans des douleurs insupportables, c’est dégueulasse. Cette perte de nos facultés, cette souffrance de condamné à mort.

Donc si on signe tous ensemble cette pétition, on a peut-être une chance. La participation de tous est nécessaire, et c’est le plus dur.”

Carte Blanche Pour Trois Nuits Blanches, SALÒ #19, SALÒ, Paris, France, 20,21,22 avril 2017

En 2017, ORLAN a été invitée par le Silencio à participer au programme de leur autre boîte de nuit annexe appelée désormais Salò, ( avant, le Social Club). Leur projet était de donner une carte blanche à des artistes connus pour concevoir et exposer un programme sur 5 jours. ORLAN invite d’autres artistes, pour les mettre en lumière.

Show More

Tangible Striptease en Nanoséquences, Centre des Arts, Enghien-les-Bains, Université Paris Diderot, Paris, France,2016

ORLAN réalise “ Tangible striptease en nanoséquences” au Centre des Arts d’Enghien-les-Bains et à l’Université Paris Diderot jeudi 02 juin 2016 dans le cadre du festival Bains Numériques. Elle collabore avec Mael Le Mée et Sup’Biotech.

Show More

MesuRage, M HKA, Anvers, Belgique, 2012,17,20,21,22

ORLAN réalise le MesuRAGE du M HKA à Anvers en 2017 avec une genouillère et sous anti-inflammatoires à cause d’une blessure au genoux malgré la contre-indication de son médecin. ORLAN avait pour cette occasion une grande rétrospective du MesuRAGE par Barte de Baere le directeur du musée. 

Show More

ORLAN réalise sa série de performances des MesuRAGE entre 1968 et 2017. Comme le nom de l’artiste s’écrit chaque lettre en majuscule, le terme de RAGE insiste sur sa volonté de ne pas rentrer dans la ligne, dans les rangs, et le refus de ne pas jouer le rôle que la société veut nous imposer. 

Show More

MesuRage, Andy Warhol Museum, Pittsburg, États-Unis, 2012

ORLAN réalise le MesuRAGE du Musée Andy Warhol à Pittsburgh en 2012 avec une genouillère et sous anti-inflammatoires à cause d’une blessure au genoux et ce malgré la contre-indication de son médecin. ORLAN avait pour cette occasion une grande rétrospective du MesuRAGE par Eric Shiner. 

Elle a mesuré avec son corps toute la façade du musée, malgré la douleur.

ORLAN réalise sa série de performances des MesuRAGE entre 1968 et 2017. Comme le nom de l’artiste s’écrit chaque lettre en majuscule, le terme de RAGE insiste sur sa volonté de ne pas rentrer dans la ligne, dans les rangs, et le refus de ne pas jouer le rôle que la société veut nous imposer. 

Show More

Biopsie, Le manteau d’Arlequin, Ecole d’Anatomie et de biologie humaine, Laboratoire SymbioticA, Université de Perth, Australie, 2007

Dans la préface du Tiers-instruit, intitulée “Laïcité”, Michel Serres décrit l’Arlequin qui, ayant progressivement enlevé toutes ses couches de vêtements patchwork durant un tour du monde, présente une peau elle aussi sous forme de patchwork. ORLAN a été très inspirée par cet ouvrage qu’elle lira durant la performance Biopsie.

Show More

Conférence Le Plan du film, Fondation Cartier, Paris, France, 2001

En 1989 et 1992, ORLAN a reçu deux bourses du FIACRE et des Fonds d’Innovation Artistique et Culturel en Rhône-Alpes, pour partir en résidence à Chennai (ville à l’époque appelée Madras), en Inde. À l’occasion de son second voyage d’une durée de trois mois et demi, elle était accompagnée par Stephan Oriach, un réalisateur avec qui ORLAN avait collaboré dans le passé.

Show More

ORLAN crée une fausse émission de télévision enregistrée en public à la Fondation Cartier dans le cadre des Soirées Nomades. Tout paraissait réel car il y avait un  vrai présentateur de télévision, Alain Maneval qui avec ORLAN posait des questions et orchestrait le tournage.

Show More
EXOGENE, 1997-2017

En 1997, ORLAN a souhaité travailler avec la police scientifique sur le séquençage ADN, qui venait tout juste d’être utilisé pour résoudre des affaires criminelles.

Show More

“Femme avec tête(s)”, Institut d’Art Contemporain, Londres, Royaume-Uni, 1996

Il est certaines transformations physiques que même ORLAN ne peut accomplir sans l’aide de la magie. Dans Femme avec tête(s), contre-pied absolu des images qui chosifient les femmes en les réduisant à leurs attributs sexuels, elle traite du problème corps/esprit avec humour qui la caractérise. Au cours de cette performance, réalisée à l’ICA de Londres, ORLAN s’attaque à ses détracteurs bille en tête. Elle a collaboré avec un magicien qui a fait disparaître son corps pour qu’il ne reste que sa tête. 9Elle répond aux questions que lui pose sa propre image vidéo, telles que “ORLAN, es-tu une copie ou l’original? Est-ce que tu crois en Dieu? Est-ce que tu es folle?” en lisant à haute voix les textes d’Antonin Artaud, de Julia Kristeva, d’Eugénie Lemoine-Luccioni et de Michel Serres qui lui ont donné l’idée de faire de son corps “un lieu de débat public”.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 9ème Opération-Chirurgicale-Performance, 1993

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La 9ème Opération-Chirurgicale-performance a eu lieu le 14 Décembre 1993 à New York en collaboration avec la Sandra Gering Gallery. 

Lors de cette opération, ORLAN a été opéré par la chirurgienne féministe Dr. Marjorie Kramer et costumée par ORLAN

Les photographes furent Robert Puglisi et Vladimir Sichov pour Pipa-Press.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 7ème Opération-chirurgicale-performance dite Omniprésence 1993

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La 7ème opération-chirurgicale-performance dite Omniprésence a eu lieu le 21 novembre 1993 à New York en collaboration avec la Sandra Gering Gallery. 

Lors de cette opération, ORLAN a été opéré par la chirurgienne féministe Dr. Marjorie Kramer et costumée par la créatrice Lan Vu et son équipe. Les photographes furent Robert Puglisi et Vladimir Sichov pour Sipa-Press (les photos sont libres de droits). 

Show More

6ème Opération-Chirurgicale-Performance au Cirque Divers à Liège, Belgique, 1993

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images-nouvelles images / 5ème Opération-Chirurgicale-Performance dite Opération Opéra,1991

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La 5ème opération-chirurgicale-performance dite Opération-Opéra a eu lieu le 06 Juillet 1991 à Paris. 

Lors de cette opération, ORLAN a été opéré par Dr. Chérif Kamel Zahar et costumée par le créateur Franck Sorbier. Durant la performance, l’artiste a lu “Le Tiers Instruit” de Michel Serres.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images-nouvelles images / 4ème Opération-Chirurgicale-Performance dite Opération Réussie, 1991

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La 4ème opération-chirurgicale-performance dite Opération Réussie ou l’ultime chef d’œuvre a eu lieu le 08 Décembre 1990 à Paris. 

Lors de cette opération, ORLAN a été opéré par le Dr. Bernard Cornette de Saint-Cyr et costumée par le créateur Paco Rabanne.

Durant la performance, l’artiste a lu “La Robe” d’Eugénie Lemoine-Luccioni et Lacan. Le photographe fut Alain Dohmé pour Pipa-Press. ORLAN invite le danseur Jimmy Blanche a faire un striptease, à danser et à chanter pendant l’opération.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 2ème Opération-chirurgicale-performance, 1990

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La 2ème opération-chirurgicale-performance dite La licorne a eu lieu le 25 Juillet 1990 à Paris. 

Lors de cette opération, ORLAN a été opéré par Dr. Chérif Kamel Zaha.

Durant la performance, l’artiste a lu un texte de Julia Kristeva.

La Réincarnation de Sainte-ORLAN ou images nouvelles-images / 1ère Opération-chirurgicale-performance dite Bloc du shérif, 1986

Le 30 mai 1990 dans une église désacralisée nommée “All Saints” à Newcastle en Angleterre, ORLAN annonce lors d’une performance-rituel inaugurale sa décision d’entreprendre les Opérations-Chirurgicales-Performances en lisant son manifeste de l’Art Charnel qu’elle avait écrit en 1989. 

Show More

La 1ère opération-chirurgicale-performance dite Opération Shérif-Bloc a eu lieu en 1986 à Paris. 

Lors de cette opération, ORLAN a été opéré par Dr. Chérif Kamel Zahar et costumée par elle-même. Elle porte sa robe en toile photographique avec la représentation de son corps nu. Cette première opération a servi à la réalisation d’une installation de 9 photographies noir et blanc.

MesuRage, Musée Guggenheim, 1983

ORLAN réalise sa série de performances des MesuRAGE entre 1968 et 2017. Comme le nom de l’artiste s’écrit chaque lettre en majuscule, le terme de RAGE insiste sur sa volonté de ne pas rentrer dans la ligne, dans les rangs, et le refus de ne pas jouer le rôle que la société veut nous imposer. 

Show More

Un ORLAN-CORPS-de-livres, 1982

Entre 1979 et 2007 ORLAN met en place une série de performances qu’elle nomme ORLAN-CORPS-de-livres. L’artiste a une attache particulière à la littérature qui lui vient sûrement par empreinte de son père qui sacralisé les livres dans une bibliothèque fermée à clé qu’elle n’avait pas le choix d’ouvrir. 

Show More

ORLAN manipulant ses différentes effigies collées sur bois et détourées, performance, 1981

Étude documentaire : Le Drapé-le Baroque, Plafond baroque et rococo, Espace lyonnais d’art contemporain, France, 1981

ORLAN réalise la performance Plafond baroque et rococo dans son installation La Chapelle élevée à moi-même (mise en scène pour une Sainte), l’une des œuvres-clés de la série de l’Etude Documentaire : le Drapé-le Baroque. Elle condense divers aspects de la réflexion de l’artiste sur le baroque en une extravagante installation sensorielle. Montée pour l’exposition Made in France à l’Espace lyonnais d’art contemporain, la chapelle monumentale mesurait 10m². A la fois installation et lieu de performance, la Chapelle fonctionnait comme une œuvre d’art en l’absence de l’artiste et comme un décor conçu pour la performance. 

Show More

MesuRage de la place St.-Lambert, Liège, Belgique, 1980

En 1980, ORLAN réalise le MesuRAGE de la Place Saint-Lambert de Liège. À cette époque, la place avait été entièrement démolie et n’était plus qu’un immense trou béant au milieu de Liège sans projet de reconstruction.

Show More

ORLAN réalise sa série de performances des MesuRAGE entre 1968 et 2017. Comme le nom de l’artiste s’écrit chaque lettre en majuscule, le terme de RAGE insiste sur sa volonté de ne pas rentrer dans la ligne, dans les rangs, et le refus de ne pas jouer le rôle que la société veut nous imposer. 

Show More

Étude documentaire: Le Drapé-le Baroque, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, 1980

ORLAN réalise sa performance de L’étude documentaire: Le Drapé-le Baroque à plusieurs reprises dans sa vie. En 1980, elle la présente au Musée d’art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, à la fin du cortège de la 11ème Biennale d’Art Contemporain. ORLAN a commencé la performance dans une châsse en Plexiglas d’où ne sortait qu’un seul de ses doigts, celui de la désignation.

Show More

MesuRage, I.C.C, Anvers, Belgique, 1980

ORLAN réalise sa série de performances des MesuRAGE entre 1968 et 2017. Comme le nom de l’artiste s’écrit chaque lettre en majuscule, le terme de RAGE insiste sur sa volonté de ne pas rentrer dans la ligne, dans les rangs, et le refus de ne pas jouer le rôle que la société veut nous imposer. 

Show More

Urgence G.E.U., 1980

En 1980, au deuxième symposium de la performance qu’organisait ORLAN, il s’est passé un évènement très douloureux dans sa vie. 

Le premier jour du symposium, ORLAN a fait une grossesse extra-utérine. Pour ne pas mourir, il faut être opérée dans les quarante minutes qui suivent les premièresdouleurs.

Show More

Étude documentaire: Le Drapé-le Baroque, Palazzo Grassi, Venice, Italie, 1978

Dans sa performance au Palazzo Grassi à Venise en 1979, ORLAN poursuit son Étude Documentaire : Le Drapé-Le Baroque. ORLAN a commencé la performance dans une châsse en Plexiglas d’où ne sortait qu’un seul de ses doigts, celui de la désignation.

Show More